Sep 01, 2026
By Emily Martin
Amazon entered 2026 as a larger and more service-led company than it was a few years earlier. Full-year 2025 net sales reached $716.9 billion, while Q2 2026 net sales rose to $200.6 billion. AWS, advertising, third-party seller services and subscriptions now sit alongside retail as major parts of the business.
This article uses official company filings and Amazon disclosures wherever possible. It does not treat third-party estimates as official facts. Metrics that Amazon no longer publishes—especially exact Prime membership totals—are marked “latest official data not disclosed.”
| Field | Latest information |
| Legal name | Amazon.com, Inc. |
| Founded | July 1994 |
| Founder | Jeff Bezos |
| Headquarters | Seattle, Washington, United States |
| CEO | Andy Jassy |
| Executive Chair | Jeff Bezos |
| Stock listing | Nasdaq: AMZN |
| Main reporting segments | North America, International and AWS |
| Core activities | Online and physical retail, marketplace services, cloud computing, advertising, subscriptions, devices, entertainment, logistics and other services |
| 2025 employees | Approximately 1,576,000 full-time and part-time employees |
| 2025 net sales | US$716.924 billion |
| Latest reporting point used | Quarter ended June 30, 2026 |
Amazon generated $716.924 billion in net sales during 2025, compared with $637.959 billion in 2024. That equals a reported increase of 12%. The five-year series shows annual sales increasing by about $247.1 billion between 2021 and 2025.
| Year | Net sales (US$ bn) | Year-over-year change |
| 2021 | 469.8 | 21.7% |
| 2022 | 514.0 | 9.4% |
| 2023 | 574.8 | 11.8% |
| 2024 | 638.0 | 11.0% |
| 2025 | 716.9 | 12.4% |
Net income rose from $30.4 billion in 2023 to $77.7 billion in 2025. Operating income reached $80.0 billion in 2025. Operating cash flow was $139.5 billion, but free cash flow fell to $11.2 billion because purchases of property and equipment, net of proceeds and incentives, rose to $128.3 billion.
| Metric (US$ bn) | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 |
| Operating income | 36.9 | 68.6 | 80.0 |
| Net income | 30.4 | 59.2 | 77.7 |
| Operating cash flow | 84.9 | 115.9 | 139.5 |
| Free cash flow | — | 38.2 | 11.2 |
| Net property/equipment purchases | 48.1 | 77.7 | 128.3 |
Important 2026 note: Q2 2026 net income of $62.6 billion included $53.4 billion of pre-tax non-operating income, mainly linked to Amazon’s investment in Anthropic. It should not be read as a normal quarterly operating run rate.
Amazon reports three segments. In 2025, North America represented 59% of sales, International 23%, and AWS 18%. AWS supplied a much larger share of segment operating income than of sales, highlighting the different economics of cloud services and retail.
| Segment | 2023 sales | 2024 sales | 2025 sales | 2025 growth |
| North America | $352.8bn | $387.5bn | $426.3bn | 10% |
| International | $131.2bn | $142.9bn | $161.9bn | 13% |
| AWS | $90.8bn | $107.6bn | $128.7bn | 20% |
| Total | $574.8bn | $638.0bn | $716.9bn | 12% |
Online stores remained Amazon’s largest disclosed sales group in 2025 at $269.3 billion. However, net service sales reached $420.7 billion, exceeding net product sales of $296.3 billion. This shift reflects the scale of marketplace fees, AWS, advertising and subscriptions.
| Revenue group | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 | 2025 YoY |
| Online stores | $231.9bn | $247.0bn | $269.3bn | 9.0% |
| Physical stores | $20.0bn | $21.2bn | $22.6bn | 6.3% |
| Third-party seller services | $140.1bn | $156.1bn | $172.2bn | 10.3% |
| Advertising services | $46.9bn | $56.2bn | $68.6bn | 22.1% |
| Subscription services | $40.2bn | $44.4bn | $49.6bn | 11.8% |
| AWS | $90.8bn | $107.6bn | $128.7bn | 19.7% |
| Other | $5.0bn | $5.4bn | $5.9bn | 9.4% |
Calculated AWS operating margin: about 35.4% in 2025 and 39.3% in Q2 2026. These percentages are calculated from Amazon’s reported segment sales and operating income, not separately stated company metrics.
Independent sellers account for more than 60% of sales in Amazon’s store, according to Amazon. In 2025, U.S.-based independent sellers sold more than 4.6 billion items—over 8,900 per minute—and averaged more than $375,000 in annual Amazon-store sales.
| Seller metric | Latest official figure | Reference year |
| Share of Amazon-store sales | More than 60% | 2026 disclosure |
| U.S. seller items sold | More than 4.6 billion | 2025 |
| Average U.S. seller sales | More than $375,000 | 2025 |
| Sellers exceeding $1m sales | More than 75,000 | 2025 |
| U.S. sellers growing over 10x | More than 11,000 | 2025 |
| U.S. jobs supported | More than 2 million | 2025 |
| AI Seller Assistant monthly users | More than 230,000 | 2026 disclosure |
How many Amazon Prime members are there in 2026? Latest official data not disclosed. Amazon has not published a current worldwide Prime member count in its latest annual report or Q2 2026 results. The often-repeated figure of more than 200 million paid members comes from a 2021 shareholder letter and should not be presented as a 2026 count.
| Subscription metric | Latest official information | Data status |
| Worldwide Prime members | Latest official data not disclosed | No current total in 2025 10-K or Q2 2026 release |
| U.S. Prime price | $14.99/month or $139/year | Current official listed price |
| Prime Access | $6.99/month | For eligible qualifying customers |
| Prime for Young Adults | $7.49/month or $69/year | For eligible 18-24-year-olds |
| Subscription services revenue | $49.619 billion in 2025 | Includes Prime plus video, music, audiobooks, e-books and other non-AWS subscriptions |
| Prime Video Ultra | $4.99/month in the U.S. | Optional ad-free/4K tier; launched 2026 |
| Alexa+ for Prime | Included at no additional cost in U.S. | 2026 availability |
Amazon advertising services sales reached $68.635 billion in 2025, up 22.1% from $56.214 billion in 2024. The category includes sponsored ads, display advertising and video advertising sold to sellers, vendors, publishers, authors and others.
| Year | Advertising services sales | Annual change |
| 2023 | $46.906bn | — |
| 2024 | $56.214bn | 19.8% |
| 2025 | $68.635bn | 22.1% |
Amazon’s Q2 2026 net sales increased 20% year over year to $200.6 billion. North America sales were $116.2 billion, while both International and AWS reported $42.2 billion. Operating income reached $27.5 billion.
| Q2 metric | 2025 | 2026 | Year-over-year |
| Net sales | $167.7bn | $200.6bn | 20% |
| North America sales | $100.1bn | $116.2bn | 16% |
| International sales | $36.7bn | $42.2bn | 15% |
| AWS sales | $30.9bn | $42.2bn | 37% |
| Operating income | $19.2bn | $27.5bn | 43% |
| Net income | $18.2bn | $62.6bn | 244%* |
*Net income growth is distorted by investment-related gains; Q2 2026 included $53.4 billion of pre-tax non-operating income, mainly from Anthropic.
Amazon employed approximately 1,576,000 full-time and part-time employees at the end of 2025. The count excludes independent contractors and temporary workers used to supplement the workforce.
| Year-end | Employees |
| 2021 | 1,608,000 |
| 2022 | 1,541,000 |
| 2023 | 1,525,000 |
| 2024 | 1,556,000 |
| 2025 | 1,576,000 |
Gross sales are not the same as Amazon net revenue. Amazon Business annualized gross sales describe the transaction value run rate, whereas consolidated net sales follow Amazon’s accounting presentation.
Amazon now publishes a weekly worldwide list for Prime Original films and series. The following table records the official series ranking for August 17-23, 2026. It is a weekly ranking, not an all-time audience list, and Amazon did not disclose viewing hours for these titles in the ranking.
| Rank | Prime Original series | Origin note |
| 1 | Reacher | English |
| 2 | Sterling Point | English |
| 3 | Ride or Die | English |
| 4 | Off Campus | English |
| 5 | The Traitors | India |
| 6 | The Summer I Turned Pretty | English |
| 7 | The Boys | English |
| 8 | Clarkson's Farm | United Kingdom |
| 9 | Elle | English |
| 10 | Batman: Caped Crusader | English |
Amazon competes across several markets rather than one category. The company’s own filing identifies competition based on customer experience, selection, price, convenience, web services, advertising, devices, media and logistics. The table below is a functional comparison, not a market-share ranking.
| Competitor | Main overlap with Amazon | Comparable Amazon activity |
| Walmart | Retail, marketplace, grocery, fulfillment | Amazon stores, Whole Foods, logistics |
| Microsoft | Cloud infrastructure and AI services | AWS |
| Alphabet / Google | Cloud, advertising, devices, video | AWS, Amazon Ads, devices, Prime Video |
| Alibaba Group | E-commerce and cloud | Amazon stores, marketplace, AWS |
| eBay | Third-party marketplace | Amazon Marketplace |
| Apple | Devices, media and subscriptions | Fire devices, Prime Video, Music |
| Netflix | Streaming video | Prime Video |
| Shopify | Merchant commerce infrastructure | Seller services and Buy with Prime |
| FedEx / UPS | Parcel and logistics services | Amazon Transportation Services |
Amazon reported $716.924 billion in net sales for 2025, up 12% from 2024.
Amazon reported $200.6 billion in net sales for Q2 2026, a 20% year-over-year increase.
Latest official data not disclosed. Amazon’s current filings do not provide an updated worldwide Prime member count.
AWS generated $128.725 billion in sales and $45.606 billion in operating income in 2025.
Amazon advertising services sales were $68.635 billion in 2025.
Amazon employed approximately 1.576 million full-time and part-time employees as of December 31, 2025.
Amazon says independent sellers account for more than 60% of sales in its store.
Retail remains central, but services are larger in accounting terms: net service sales were $420.658 billion in 2025 versus $296.266 billion in net product sales.
Competitors vary by market. Walmart and Alibaba overlap in commerce; Microsoft and Google in cloud; Google in advertising; Netflix and Apple in media; and logistics providers in delivery.
The quarter included $53.4 billion of pre-tax non-operating income, mainly from Amazon’s Anthropic investment.